Massachusetts 529 tax deduction in 2026
A small cap, a flat rate, and a surtax that changes the math for a few.
Massachusetts tax saved on this contribution
$100
1.7 % of what you put in comes back on your 2026 return. Capped: only 2,000 dollars of the contribution count.
| Subtracted from state income | $2,000 |
| Your state marginal rate | 5.00 % |
| Cap that applies this year | $2,000 |
| Back per $1,000 contributed | $17 |
Massachusetts: Deduction of contributions to a Massachusetts U.Fund 529 account or U.Plan prepaid tuition account, up to $1,000 per single filer or $2,000 per married couple filing jointly, per filer and not per beneficiary. Read on 2026-10-19. No federal deduction exists for 529 contributions.
| Taxable income | Marginal rate | Tax saved |
|---|---|---|
| $50,000 | 5.00 % | $100 |
| $100,000 | 5.00 % | $100 |
| $200,000 | 5.00 % | $100 |
| $400,000 | 5.00 % | $100 |
Worked out by Radif Partners · How we calculate · Massachusetts rule read on October 19, 2026, brackets of tax year 2026 · not tax advice
Massachusetts lets a filer deduct contributions to a MEFA U.Fund account or a U.Plan prepaid tuition account, up to $1,000 on a single return or $2,000 for a married couple filing jointly. The limit is per filer, not per child, so a third grandchild or a second account adds nothing. Wage income is taxed at a flat 5.00 %, which makes the full joint deduction worth $100; only income above $1,107,750 meets the extra surtax, and there the same $2,000 saves $180. The official sources read name only the two MEFA programs and describe no carryforward of the excess. If money leaves for anything other than college costs, death, disability or a scholarship, the deduction is recaptured, and MEFA says a rollover to another state's plan triggers it too. Whether K-12 tuition, student loan payments or a Roth IRA rollover trigger recapture is, in the plan's own words, unclear.
| Benefit for contributions | Deduction |
|---|---|
| Cap | $1,000 single, $2,000 joint per taxpayer |
| Another state’s plan counts | No, in-state plan only |
| State plans (official names, no recommendation) | MEFA U.Fund College Investing Plan, MEFA U.Plan Prepaid Tuition Program |
| Account balance limit | $500,000 |
| K-12 withdrawals qualified for state tax | Not stated by the state |
| 529 to Roth IRA rollover qualified | Not stated by the state |
| Student loan payments qualified | Not stated by the state |
| Add-back on a rollover to another state’s plan | Yes |
A small cap, counted per filer
Massachusetts sits near the bottom of the deduction table: $1,000 for an individual, $2,000 for a joint return. MEFA's article on the deduction stresses the unit. It is counted per filer, so the number of beneficiaries does not raise it. A couple at $140,000 who spread $9,000 across three children's U.Fund accounts still deducts only $2,000 and saves $100 on the state return. The remaining dollars grow tax-deferred like any 529 money; they simply earn nothing on Schedule Y, where the deduction is claimed.
At the small end, a single teacher at $72,000 who sets aside $50 a month, $600 for the year, gets $30 back. Try your own amount below.
Your Massachusetts Schedule Y deduction
Massachusetts tax saved on this contribution
$30
| Subtracted from state income | $600 |
| Your state marginal rate | 5.00 % |
| Cap that applies this year | $1,000 |
| Back per $1,000 contributed | $50 |
The surtax line
For tax year 2026 a 4 % surtax applies on income above $1,107,750, with the same threshold for single and joint returns. A household whose income sits above that line deducts at 9 % instead of 5 %: a couple at $1,400,000 saves $180 on the same $2,000. The difference is real but small, since the cap does not move.
Which plans count
The state's FY27 tax expenditure budget and MEFA both tie the deduction to the U.Fund College Investing Plan and the U.Plan Prepaid Tuition Program. Neither source mentions any other state's 529, and the statute itself (M.G.L. c. 62 s. 3.B(a)(19)) was not read here, so this page treats out-of-state plans as earning no Massachusetts deduction. The U.Fund accepts contributions until a beneficiary's balance reaches $500,000. MEFA also notes that no Department of Revenue guidance exists on rollovers into a U.Fund account.
Recapture: what is settled and what is not
The U.Fund Fact Kit dated January 2, 2026 is plain on the basic case. A distribution or refund for anything other than qualified higher education expenses, or the beneficiary's death, disability or scholarship, brings back the deduction in the year it happens. MEFA adds that moving the account to another state's plan does the same.
The newer uses are a different story. The Fact Kit describes the 2025 federal changes (the $20,000 yearly K-12 limit from 2026, wider K-12 expenses, credential programs) but gives no Massachusetts treatment. It says outright that it is unclear whether K-12 tuition, apprenticeship or student loan distributions are exempt from recapture, and no Department of Revenue guidance was found. Treat those withdrawals as an open question on the state return, and see the K-12 page for the federal side. The add-back below uses $5,000 of past deductions, which is two and a half years of full joint claims.
Massachusetts recapture on a rollover out
Massachusetts tax if the deductions come back
$250
| Amount added back | $5,000 |
| Your state marginal rate | 5.00 % |