Leftover 529 money in 2026: seven ways out of an account nobody needs for school
A balance left after the diploma is not a lost cause. Most of the exits cost no tax at all, and the one that does only taxes the growth.
Can move to the Roth IRA this year
$7,500
At this pace the $35,000 lifetime limit takes 3 years.
| Yearly room (IRA limit, earned income) | $7,500 |
| Lifetime limit left | $35,000 |
| Account open long enough | Yes |
| 2026 IRA limit | $7,500 |
Direct trustee-to-trustee transfer to a Roth IRA of the beneficiary; contributions of the last 5 years and their earnings do not qualify (26 U.S.C. 529(c)(3)(E)).
Worked out by Radif Partners · How we calculate · federal rules from Public Law 119-21 and IRS Publication 970, state rules from each state · not tax advice
Money left in a 529 after school has seven exits, and most cost nothing. The owner can name a new beneficiary from the student's family, a list that runs from siblings and first cousins to parents, in-laws and the student's own future children, with no tax. The account can wait for graduate school, since no age limit appears in the qualified expense list. Up to $10,000 can repay the student loans of each borrower. After 15 years, up to $35,000 per beneficiary can move to the beneficiary's Roth IRA, one yearly IRA limit at a time, using only money older than 5 years. A disabled family member's ABLE account can receive a rollover within the $20,000 yearly limit. A scholarship lets the same amount come out without the 10 % additional tax. A plain withdrawal taxes only the growth: a South Carolina couple at $150,000 taking $22,000 with 40 % growth would owe about $3,274 and keep $18,726.
Start with the family tree
The cheapest exit is a new name on the account. Publication 970 says a change of designated beneficiary has no income tax consequence when the new beneficiary is a member of the old one's family, and the list is wider than most parents expect. The money can also move by rollover to another 529 for a family member within 60 days of the withdrawal, which helps when the other child already has an account in a different plan. A rollover to an account for the same beneficiary is limited to one in any 12 months.
| Relationship to the current beneficiary | Counts as family |
|---|---|
| Spouse | Yes |
| Son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, adopted child, or a descendant of any of them | Yes |
| Brother, sister, half brother, half sister, stepbrother, stepsister | Yes |
| Father, mother, or an ancestor of either | Yes |
| Stepfather, stepmother | Yes |
| Nephew or niece (child of a brother, sister, half brother or half sister) | Yes |
| Aunt or uncle (brother or sister of the father or mother) | Yes |
| Son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law | Yes |
| Spouse of anyone above | Yes |
| First cousin | Yes |
Two uses of that list are easy to miss. A parent can become the beneficiary and spend the money on their own courses, including a license or certificate (credential programs). And the graduate can stay the beneficiary until they have children, then switch the account to a son or daughter, who is family too. Nothing in the qualified expense list depends on the student's age, which is also why keeping the balance for a master's degree or a later return to school costs nothing while the money stays invested.
Exits that keep the money in the education lane
Student loans are the quick one. Up to $10,000 of principal and interest per borrower, over a lifetime, counts as a qualified cost, and the account can pay the loans of a brother or sister as well. For a graduate with a modest balance and a loan servicer waiting, it closes the account with no federal tax. The student loan page has the sibling rule and the interest deduction that is lost on those dollars.
A graduate who is not sure yet can simply wait. A program started at thirty, a professional exam later on, or a younger cousin heading to college in six years all draw on the same balance. Waiting keeps every exit open, and the growth meanwhile remains untaxed.
Into a Roth IRA, slowly
Since 2024, the same beneficiary can receive up to $35,000 in a Roth IRA from a 529 that has existed for 15 years, through a direct transfer between the plan and the IRA custodian. Contributions made in the last 5 years and their earnings stay behind, and each year's transfer counts toward that year's IRA contribution limit, $7,500 in 2026, minus anything else the beneficiary put in an IRA. For our South Carolina graduate, $7,500 can move this year, and at that pace moving the whole balance would take 3 years, provided each slice is old enough when it leaves. The calculator at the top shows it; the 529 to Roth IRA page covers each condition.
An account that is too young
Can move to the Roth IRA this year
$0
| Yearly room (IRA limit, earned income) | $7,500 |
| Lifetime limit left | $35,000 |
| Account open long enough | No |
| 2026 IRA limit | $7,500 |
An account opened when the child was in middle school cannot use this exit at graduation. Whether naming a new beneficiary resets the 15-year count is a question the statute and Publication 970 leave unanswered, which makes the other exits the safer plan for a young account.
Into an ABLE account
When someone in the family has a disability and an ABLE account, the 529 can roll money into it without tax, for the same beneficiary or a family member. Public Law 119-21 removed the end date that the earlier rule carried, so this exit is permanent from 2026. The rollover counts toward the ABLE yearly contribution limit, $20,000 in 2026, together with every other deposit made that year. If relatives already put $3,000 into the ABLE account, $17,000 of 529 money fits this year. The 529 to ABLE page explains the timing.
What fits the ABLE limit this year
Can roll to the ABLE account in 2026
$12,000
| ABLE yearly limit, 2026 | $20,000 |
| Already used | $3,000 |
| Room left | $17,000 |
Taking the cash
A withdrawal for any other purpose is allowed, and only the earnings share is taxed, as income of the person who receives it, plus the 10 % additional tax. On the full $22,000, the South Carolina couple would pay about $1,936 of federal income tax, $880 of additional tax and $458 at the state rate of 5.21 %. The account's growth share drives everything: a balance made mostly of recent contributions comes back almost untouched.
Scholarships soften the bill. The year their son received a $9,000 tax-free scholarship, the parents could take $9,000 from the account without the additional tax; income tax on the earnings share remains. That brings the cost from $1,340 to $980. The death or disability of the beneficiary and attendance at a U.S. military academy lift the 10 % the same way. The non-qualified withdrawal page works through partly qualified years and state add-backs.
Cash out up to the scholarship
Tax on this withdrawal
$980
| Earnings part | $3,600 |
| Federal income tax at 22 % | $792 |
| 10 % additional tax | $0 |
| South Carolina tax and add-back | $188 |
The state view of each exit
A state with an income tax can disagree with the federal answer on two of these exits, the Roth rollover and the loan payments, and a disagreement usually means state tax on the earnings plus an add-back of earlier deductions. The table shows what each state wrote, as we read it.
| State | Roth rollover | Loan payments |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Qualified | Qualified |
| Arizona | Qualified | Qualified |
| Arkansas | Qualified | Qualified |
| California | Not qualified | Qualified |
| Colorado | Not qualified | Not qualified |
| Connecticut | Not stated | Qualified |
| Delaware | Not stated | Not stated |
| District of Columbia | Not qualified | Qualified |
| Georgia | Qualified | Qualified |
| Hawaii | Qualified | Not stated |
| Idaho | Qualified | Qualified |
| Illinois | Qualified | Qualified |
| Indiana | Not qualified | Not qualified |
| Iowa | Qualified | Qualified |
| Kansas | Qualified | Qualified |
| Kentucky | Not stated | Qualified |
| Louisiana | Not stated | Qualified |
| Maine | Qualified | Qualified |
| Maryland | Not qualified | Qualified |
| Massachusetts | Not stated | Not stated |
| Michigan | Not stated | Qualified |
| Minnesota | Not qualified | Not qualified |
| Mississippi | Not stated | Qualified |
| Missouri | Not stated | Qualified |
| Montana | Qualified | Qualified |
| Nebraska | Not stated | Qualified |
| New Jersey | Not stated | Not stated |
| New Mexico | Not stated | Qualified |
| New York | Qualified | Qualified |
| North Carolina | Qualified | Qualified |
| North Dakota | Qualified | Qualified |
| Ohio | Qualified | Not stated |
| Oklahoma | Qualified | Qualified |
| Oregon | Not stated | Qualified |
| Pennsylvania | Qualified | Qualified |
| Rhode Island | Qualified | Qualified |
| South Carolina | Qualified | Qualified |
| Utah | Qualified | Qualified |
| Vermont | Not qualified | Qualified |
| Virginia | Not stated | Qualified |
| West Virginia | Qualified | Not stated |
| Wisconsin | Qualified | Qualified |